Helen Martin Award for Excellence in Clinical Precepting to Banks

On Wednesday, May 18, the UCSF School of Nursing came together to honor and celebrate our volunteer faculty. Each year, students nominate their clinical preceptors for the Helen Martin Award for Excellence in Clinical Precepting. The award is in honor and memory of Helen Martin, RN, FNP (MS ’91)—a stellar leader in faculty practice and an inspiring preceptor. Helen was clinical director of Valencia Health Services, a UCSF-supported pediatric practice in San Francisco’s Mission District and an assistant clinical professor in the Department of Family Health Care Nursing. Throughout her career, she worked with trainees, and over the ten-plus years she managed Valencia Health Services, she made it her mission to ensure that the clinic provided the best training possible for the students.

Crowd photo at Helen Martin Award Celebration

Pilar Bernal De Pheils, RN, MS, FAAN, FNP, and Gerri Collins-Bride, RN, MS, FAAN, welcomed everyone to the evening’s event. Current Associated Students of the School of Nursing (ASSN) President Audrey Combs shared her thanks on behalf of the student body for all volunteer faculty noting their lasting impression on students and highlighting their role "outside our classroom seats, in the clinical setting." Gerri and Pilar then introduced Dean David Vlahov who gave his remarks to both students and faculty in attendance and introduced Helen’s husband, Seth Ammerman. Seth is a clinical professor of pediatrics at Stanford University and shared remarks and memories regarding his late wife who felt passionately about mentoring and teaching. Seth, along with other family and friends, established this annual award with a fund in her memory to support and recognize the work that volunteer faculty do. Seth presented the award to Shirley Banks, NR, MS, FNP, 2016.

Helen Martin Awardee, Shirley Banks (center), possess with Seth, Gerri, family and friends.

Helen Martin Awardee for Excellence in Clinical Precepting. With a crowd that included family, friends, students, and fellow volunteer faculty, Shirley thanked her colleagues and students who have worked with her at the San Francisco County Jail #2 throughout her years of precepting for our AGPCNP students. Pilar and Gerri concluded the evening’s program by providing all those nominated with certificates and extending thanks to our retiring preceptors. We are grateful to our clinical preceptors for their collective countless decades of service and invaluable contributions, which have been critical to the success of the School’s specialty programs.

The following individuals were nominated for excellence in clinical precepting in 2016:

Abigail Abar-Calica, RN, MS, GNP
Shirley Banks, RN, MS, FNP
Farrell Barnett, MD
Holly Cost, RN, MS, CNM
Quoc Du, RN, MSN, PNP-BC
Megan Greenberg, RN, MS, FNP-BC
Laura Keels, RN, MS, FNP-BC
Michael Linn, MD
Jennifer Liu, RN, MS, FNP
Robert Malloy, RN, MSN, ANP-BC
Julie Ososke, RN, MS, FNP
Clarissa Ospina Norvell, RN, MS, ANP
Kim Pelish, RN, MS, ANP
Mary Rabitz, RN, MSN, FNP
Norma Rilveria, RN, MS, CPNP
Karen Sprague, RN, MSN, FNP
Brenda Stengele, RN, MS, OHNP
Jacqueline Tulsky, MD
Kelly Weissburg, RN, MS, OHNP
Jesse Wennik, RN, MS, ANP-BC, PMHNP-BC, CNS

Related Coverage