FAANs for 2013 include Five UCSF School of Nursing Faculty Members

The American Academy of Nursing of Nursing (AANNET.ORG) has selected 172 nurse leaders for induction as Fellows in 2013. Ten of these leaders are from California, and five are faculty members at UCSF School of Nursing: Janine Cataldo, Bethany Phoenix, Judith Martin-Holland, Laura Wagner and Mary Foley.

AANNET.org logo

The Academy Inductions are scheduled during the Academy's 40th annual meeting on October 19, 2013, in Washington, DC.

The Academy is composed of more than 2,000 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. The Academy Fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers.

“Selection for fellowship in the Academy is one of the most prestigious honors in the field of nursing,” said Academy president Joanne Disch, PhD, RN, FAAN. “I congratulate all of the new Fellows and look forward to honoring their accomplishments and welcoming them into the Academy.”

Selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current Academy Fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed Fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee's nursing careers influenced health policies and the heath and well-being of all. New Fellows will be eligible to use the credentials FAAN (Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing) after their induction in October.