Our Departments

The UCSF School of Nursing houses four academic departments — Community Health Systems, Family Health Care Nursing, Physiological Nursing and Social & Behavioral Sciences — and the Institute for Health & Aging, which is an organized research unit.

Together, these departments and organized research unit guide our mission of educating diverse health leaders, conducting research, advancing nursing and inter-professional practice, and providing public service with a focus on promoting health quality and equity. Leadership includes:

Community Health Systems — Chair Carol Dawson-Rose, RN, PhD, FAAN
Family Health Care Nursing — Interim Chair Sally Rankin, PhD, RN, FAAN
Physiological Nursing — Chair Janine Cataldo, RN, PhD, FAAN
Social & Behavioral Sciences — Chair Janet Shim, PhD
Institute for Health & Aging — Director Wendy Max, PhD

The Office of the Dean oversees administration for the School, and we also offer advanced training through our Centers for Global Health and Palliative Care.