Skip to Navigation Skip to Content
Individual citations, honors, or awards, granted to researchers and to faculty members.

Mary Louise Fleming & Barbara J. Burgel Named on 100 Inspiring Nursing Professors to Watch

Mary Louise Fleming and Barbara J. Burgel were recently named by as two of the 100 most inspiring nursing professors to watch in 2014. The list is meant to honor 100 dedicated nurse educators who have succeeded in carving out a place for themselves in the changing nursing landscape.

Audrey Lyndon Discusses Preeclampsia in the SF Chronicle

Because many of those symptoms are common side effects in a healthy pregnancy, clinicians and patients can miss the red flags if they don't know what to look for, said Audrey Lyndon, an associate professor at UCSF's School of Nursing who also worked on the guid

AACN Honors School of Nursing Partnership

At Oakland's Havenscourt Health Center, partners in Elev8 from UC San Francisco School of Nursing and the Alameda County Center for Healthy Schools and Communities celebrate recognition from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN).

Tekoa King Honored by American College of Nurse-Midwives

Tekoa King, CNM, MPH, FACNM, is the 2013 recipient of the Hattie Hemschemeyer Award from the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM,

Shannon Smith-Bernardin Wins 14th Annual Ann Klobas Award for Outstanding Policy Paper

The Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, UCSF School of Nursing, announces the winner of the Fourteenth Annual Ann Klobas Award for Outstanding Policy Paper.

Chronic Public Intoxication:
Utilizing Framing Theory in
the Alcohol Policy Debate”

IHA's Dorothy Rice wins 2013 Graham Prize for Health Services Research

From Wendy Max, Co-Director, UCSF Institute of Health and Aging

Kathy Lee Inducted into International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (STTI) has announced the 2013 inductees to the STTI International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame, including Kathy Lee at UCSF School of Nursing.   The press release is reproduced below.

Kathryn Lee, PhD, RN, CBSM, FAAN

Nursing Dean Elected to Board of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing

David Vlahov, PhD, RN, FAAN, dean of the UCSF School of Nursing, has been elected to the board of directors of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN).

Associate Dean Zina Mirsky Celebrates Retirement

(L-R) Dean Norbeck, Zina Mirsky, Dean Vlahov, Dean Dracup

From the top of the School of Nursing (SON) building at UCSF, you can see the late afternoon sun sinking into the Pacific Ocean, and the bustle of campus life below.  Amidst that perfect backdrop yesterday afternoon, there was a steady stream of faculty, alumni, students, and friends making their way to honor a

Shirley Sears Chater named "Force Multiplier" by RWJ Foundation, Completes Leadership on Executive Nurse Fellows Advisory Committee

Shirley Chater, RN, PhD, FAAN, the national advisory committee chairwoman for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Executive Nurse Fellows program since its inception in 1998, has stepped down from her post, the Foundation announced.  RWJF recently named her a "Force Multiplier" for being a nursing trailblazer and pioneer.